A new beginning

Wow…it’s been 2 years since I last wrote. I never thought I would write a blog again as I was too busy. It’s now Spring 2009, and I’ve graduated, moved to a new city, got a new job, and hoping for even better things to come. Isn’t it amazing when looking back and seeing how much you have grown?

Life in SF is in a lot of ways different from life in SoCal. Everybody does not like LA, as much as they don’t like LA people, but I do. Regardless of what others would say, I still do miss LA a lot. The most challenging thing for me is to try to fit myself in the new environment. It’s like starting over again. So far I think things have been pretty good though. I love my new colleagues–the younger crews and the funnier ones. I’ve made some new friends, and I have places to go and things to do on the weekend. Meanwhile keeping track of my career growth. All these times in LA, I have always been thankful and feeling lucky that I have met the right people who are always there to help me throughout the process of my doctoral study. These ‘key’ people just came unexpected, and next thing I knew, I just didn’t know how it happened, only to know that here I am and I’m lucky once again. At UCSF, my key person is definitely T. I only wish he knew how thankful I am to have met him. I must always remind myself when I have achieved my goals some day in the future to always give back to the society and always open the road for the still learning ones.

The weather here sucks though. I don’t want to imagine how I’d survive on the east coast, because even now in NorCal, I could barely stand the cold, dull, and hazy weather. It’s too depressing for me. Rent is expensive, and so is cost of living. Parking in the city is either difficult, or expensive, or both. And it’s frustrating for me because I love to drive…though I’m adjusting to walking and taking muni/BART more. Maybe it will take a whole lot of time for me to fully adjust to the city. Now I gotta do what I got to do. Wouldn’t it be interesting where and what I’ll end up being in the next two years?

Leave a Reply

