Eating healthy (two new additions)

Lentils and quinoa

I have been trying to maintain a healthy lifestyle by exercising daily, minimizing stress level, maximizing sleep hours, and eating less processed food.  Recently I have been incorporating the following food into my routine diets.

  1. Oat meals with nonfat milk
  2. Organic low-fat yogurt
  3. Organic cherry tomatoes
  4. Organic broccoli
  5. Green beans
  6. Organic Clementine
  7. Gala apples
  8. Green grapes
  9. Green tea
  10. Organic flax seed bread

All of them are listed on WHFoods: the world’s healthiest foods page. However, as I looked at the list, I saw that some nutritions are still deficient.  In fact my results from Food Advisor indicated that I am still in need of Vit B12, D, E, B3, Cu and Folic acid. I guess I will need to incorporate some meat into my daily diet.

On the side note, as I was browsing in Trader Joe’s the other day, I ended up buying two more items to add to my routine meals: Lentils for the source of fiber, protein and folic acid, whereas quinoa will provide high Mg and Mn to help with the CVS, relaxing blood vessels, relieving migraine. I don’t really like taking supplements, so hopefully eating the right food will provide me sufficient nutritions.

I already started eating lentils by mixing with vegetable side dishes. The taste was complementary.  Now I’m on the search for a quinoa recipe.

2 thoughts on “Eating healthy (two new additions)

  1. Pingback: Organic quinoa and grilled asparagus « As time goes by…

Leave a Reply

