Organic quinoa and grilled asparagus

Organic quinoa and mixed vegetables

Organic quinoa and mixed vegetables

Talking about maintaining a healthy lifestyle and increasing the duration of time the body needs to rest, I was able to go to bed at 11 PM last night.  Although part of it was because of the long day in the OR, I was still happy for the change–one step at a time. This morning was definitely more refreshing as compared to when I worked on the computer till 1 AM.

I was talking about cooking quinoa the other day, and it turns out that it’s easier than I thought. According to the label, quinoa can be handled just like rice and hence be cooked in a rice cooker. I cooked my quinoa in my favorite Zojirushi rice cooker for a little over an hour under mixed rice mode, and the result was very satisfying. The quinoa turned out soft and fluffy, and not too dry.

This evening, I made a simple dinner dish by mixing the quinoa with the organic foursome (white corn, sweet peas, julienne sliced carrots and Fancy Blue Lake green beans) from TJs.  Topped off with grilled asparagus, broccoli florets and organic cherry tomatoes, this simple dish could not get any healthier. I used a little bit of the horseradish sauce to add a bit of the taste, although quinoa itself was already surprisingly flavorful.

After the dinner, I ate another cup of organic vanilla yogurt with flax seeds and blueberries.  The nutty taste from the flax seeds complements the yogurt very well.  I am thinking I need to make my own batch of yogurt as I have been eating a lot of yogurt these days.  It’s really been a while since I last used my yogurt maker.  Time to take out the yogurt maker from the cabinet!

2 thoughts on “Organic quinoa and grilled asparagus

  1. that looks yummy! I have been eating quinoa for quite a while and love it…isnt it great that it can be cooked in a rice cooker..makes it so easy!
    Quinoa is also good as a hot breakfast ; mix with fruit like raisins or applesauce and cinnamon..

Leave a Reply

