Barley tea

Barley tea collection

Barley tea is a great alternative to those who are looking for antioxidant-rich, yet caffeine-free, tea. In a recent publication from Japan, 5 anti-oxidative compounds have been identified in barley tea including hydroxyacetophenone, dihydroxychromone, naringenin, iso-americanol A, and quercetin. The latter, quercetin, has also been used as a key ingredient in Korres skin care anti-aging products! Apart from its anti-oxidative property, barley tea is also believed to promote weight loss, reduce cholesterol, and improve cardiovascular and gastrointestinal functions. Read about the benefits of barley (not necessarily the tea) here.

Just like an ordinary Sunday, I was writing a case report in the coffee place, drinking a cup of foamy white mocha. As I was writing, hours passed by, I developed craving for a bowl of noodle. Well I guess it was the J-town effect!  Admittedly, I haven’t had noodles for a while because I have been trying to limit carb intake and the sodium in the noodle soup.  Today though, I tried to find myself an excuse. Once–just once in a month or two, should be all right.

As I was browsing in Nijiya market looking for udon and somen in the noodle aisle, I came across a deal on barley tea packages. It was $4.99 for 50 tea bags!  I couldn’t help but grab them into the basket, recalling that the barley tea I have at home must have been approaching its expiration date anyway. Now I am going to incorporate barley tea into my daily diet.

Of course, a trip to Nijiya wouldn’t have been completed without the dorayaki! This is a baked version so it’s reduced-guilt!  Regardless, I finished 2 in the car, leaving only 3 left as of now. So irresistible! 🙂

Dorayaki~

Leave a Reply

